Poem-Flaws

Because I could not lose for fear,

It did kindly lose for me.

Pause to lose, like the Fear does.

A risk however hard it tries,

Will always be unnecessary,

A risk is excess, a risk is redundant,

A risk in unneeded, however.

Why would you think that the anxiety is gradual?

The anxiety in the most sudden physiological state of all,

An anxiety is sharp. An anxiety is unexpected,

An anxiety is explosive, however.

When I think of the stink, I see a sickening look.

A stink is minuscule, a stink is slender

A stink is big, however.

This is a free verse poem that I wrote about some common problems and flaws that many people have including myself. I chose to write a free verse because I am not a very skilled poet so I thought that the less structure and rhyme scheme I have the easier it will be for me to construct and it will turn up better at the end. For each stanza I decided to write about a different topic but they all fall under the same idea. The first stanza is fear, the second is risk-taking, the third is anxiety and the forth one I put a little twist on that I will explain later. I decided to structure the first and last stanza a little differently than the two in the middle because it better illustrates a beginning middle and end to the poem. I talked about fear in the first stanza because every human has many fears but I wanted to look on the positive and talk about overcoming fears. That’s why I put in the line “I could not lose for fear” meaning I won’t let my fears consume me and the line “It did kindly lose for me” meaning that I was able to overcome my fears. The next stanza is about risk taking, for my whole life I thought taking risks were unnecessary and that it was better to play it safe, why take a chance when you can prevent it all together. That was my idea for this second stanza the line “will always be unnecessary” signifies what I believed to be true the majority of my life. The third stanza was all about anxiety, I don’t have much anxiety but I occasionally have bursts of it which was the idea behind this stanza. The line “why would you think that the anxiety is gradual?” talks about how for many people anxiety is a constant thing that builds up overtime but instead it comes and goes throughout moments in our life. I then go on to describe anxiety which is something that I also did with risk taking. I believe that this is an effective technique because it gives the reader a better idea of the message that you are trying to convey. The last stanza is a bit different. Instead of talking about another issue I decided to allow the reader to personalize that stanza and make it what they want. I used the word stink because stink is a unpleasant smell and we all have something about ourselves that is unpleasant so I gave the reader freedom to think of something that is unpleasant about them and use that to relate to the last stanza of this poem.    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *