October Free Choice- My Not So Bad Habit

I am writing about something that I have mastered so pay attention to what I am about to say it comes from years of experience. Procrastination, the act of putting off work or tasks until the last second, ironically I procrastinated this very assignment that talks about procrastination. In my opinion I believe that Humans procrastinate because we are just naturally lazy, it’s in our genetic makeup and we just happened to evolve over time this way. Of course some people aren’t as lazy as others because they were able to fight off the urge of being lazy. Since we are naturally lazy when we have to complete a  task we tell ourselves “why would I start it now when I can do it later”. It makes sense let’s take the example of a assignment that you would get from a teacher, if the assignment is due on friday that means it has to be completed by friday, it’s your choice when you start and finish it as long as it is before Friday your good, so why would you not take the easiest route of waiting till the night before to finish it. Humans are naturally lazy and we also like to take the easiest course of action when doing something and for many people the easiest route is to wait until the last second. Another big factor of why people procrastinate is the fear of failure. Many people deal with problems and obstacles by avoiding them so if they have to complete something they avoid it until they have no other option but to face it once and for all. Procrastination seems like a bad habit but some people are able to utilize it to the maximum and be successful with it.

I believe that I am a person who is able to be successful even with my constant habit of procrastination. I am able to do this because I have a pretty good short term memory, I am able to cram lots of information in a short period of time and I am able to retain that information for a couple of days. An example of this would be when I have to study for a test in Biology. In sciences courses there are many facts that you need to remember if you want to do well in that class especially in Biology. I usually don’t study until the night before the test so I need to memorize everything for a topic or unit in a few hours. I am usually able to do it and I do fairly well on the tests. Procrastination works for me because when I am doing something the night before there is a sense of urgency, the idea that you have no other choice but to complete your task. My best work usually comes when there is that sense of urgency when I try to do something in a timely manner I usually lack the motivation to complete the task and I end up putting it off. Procrastination can be the downfall of a person but in very few scenarios it can benefit the individual.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *